I’m gearing up to sew my first pattern piece.  I’ve had the pattern ready to go for a while, but I’ve been stalling because…it’s intimidating.

However, one big hurdle will be jumped/avoided with my newest sewing tools: pattern weights.  I’ve read a lot about them, and I can totally see how much easier it will be to not have to pin the pattern down; the weights will hold it in place on my table.  I’m hoping that these little guys will give me some motivation to undertake my project.

(By the way?  A set of four pattern weights costs $13.99 at Joann Fabrics.  I paid $3.50 for a box of 25 washers and used ribbon that I’ve had for ages.  Just sayin’.)

I’ll share the tutorial from Our Nesting Ground that I bookmarked for the project, but it’s really quite simple.

Take some large washers, some ribbon, and a hot glue gun:

Photo May 19, 6 33 10 PM

Glue 4 washers together, and then wrap them with your favorite (or available) ribbon.

et voila! Pretty weights!  I only glued the end of the ribbon (I cut it to end on the inside of the weight), but you could glue the beginning, if you’re worried about slippage.

Photo May 19, 7 11 43 PM

These would make a great little last minute gift for a friend who sews or crafts with paper.

